Fish Market at Marsaxxlok, southern Malta


Anyone who knows me, even a little, knows that I love all things coastal; a coastal diet, of course, has a lot to do with it. I have a fondness for sea-side fishing villages, fisher folk and fish markets. The fact that I was born by the beautiful beaches of Goa probably shaped this part of me. When I was a child, most days began with a trip to the fish market or a conversation with a fishmonger who came to the door to sell us fish for the day. While most girls played with teddy bears and kitchen sets, I spent most lazy afternoons pretending to be a fishmonger.  I had a set of three fish shaped soft toys, which I carried around in a basket on my head. I even practiced boisterously arguing with imaginary customers.

Not-so-coincidentally, I have a knack for picking travel destinations that indulge this fishy passion of mine. Malta, located smack in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea has a rich maritime culture. On the first Sunday of my stay here, I visited Marsaxxlok, which is the southern most port of Malta. It is a traditional fishing village, many of the locals still rely of traditional methods of fishing and go out in beautifully painted wooden boats called luzzus.

Marsaxxlok has a Sunday fish market, which is popular both among locals and visitors. It beckoned me. Spent a lovely day by the boats, with the warm spring sun shining down on me. I didn’t really go there to shop, more to revel in those familiar fishy smells (much cleaner than the ones I am used to in Mumbai), and to laze under the sun by the waterfront.

The luzzus sharing space with more modern yatchs & speed boats.

The luzzus sharing space with more modern yatchs & speed boats.

So much rich blushing salmon!

Peachy blushing salmon

Octopus, a local favourite.

Octopus, a local favourite

Some sort of baby shark, which looks a lot like the shark we get in India. Don't worry, this isn't the endangered variety.

Some sort of baby shark, which looks a lot like the shark we get in India. Don’t worry, this isn’t the endangered variety.

2 thoughts on “Fish Market at Marsaxxlok, southern Malta

Leave a Reply

