First bellyfull in the Mediterranean


I first heard about the tiny Island of Malta when I was 16. I met Maltese flamenco dancers in Mumbai, and took lessons from them. We stayed in touch over the last 10 years and today I’m finally in Malta – a beautiful little rock in the Mediterranean, full of smiley jolly people.

Of course, my exploration had to begin belly first. I just spent my morning in a city called Mosta. I did a little shopping; raw materials for lunch. Found it impossible to resist the farm fresh vegetables, typically sold out of the back of mini-trucks. Little fact; Malta, though extremely tiny, grows it’s own vegetables and fruits, and makes it’s own olive oil. So I bought carrots, chubby tomatoes, bell peppers as big as my face and some round zucchini-like gourd, which I am yet to find an English name for. (Locals call them marro)

IMG_5274

Farm fresh

Then I followed an old toothless granny into a meat shop, (these old wise ones always lead you to the trustiest local shops). There I bought some Maltese sausages; ground pork, heavily seasoned with garlic, pepper, coriander seeds and other spices. The friendly shop keeper told me that the locals eat these sausages raw, but she recommended I pan fry them. Adventurous as I am, raw pork may not be the best idea. Besides, it’s quite cold and I want steaming hot food!

Maltese sausages

Maltese sausages

For the carb element of my meal I chose quassatat, a local favourite sold at almost every street corner. Thick pastry wrapped around soft, pillowy ricotta cheese. These things are super heavy! Locals eat them at a single go, but about a fourth is all I can manage for lunch today.

Quassatat

Quassatat

Cheesy cross section

Cheesy cross section

That’s meal no.1 in Malta. Bon appétit to me!

One thought on “First bellyfull in the Mediterranean

  1. Pingback: Peppered Goat’s Cheese – a Gozo Specialty | bellyfirst

Leave a Reply

