Boozy Bakes: Chocolate and Orange Liqueur Cake


Some people are excellent gifters. They know just what gifts make you squeal with delight. My fairy Godmother (yes, I have one) recently gifted me a fine bottle of locally made orange liqueur. After looking at this magical potion for a few days I decided to crack it open and bake with it.

Now I know people say that when baking one must follow a recipe. But (maybe it was the couple of swigs I had taken) I was determined to do my own thing. So after much deliberation I wrote down a recipe I thought would work. I must admit I felt like a bit of a mad scientist or a witch concocting a brew. (I even cackled for dramatic effect as I stirred in saffron spirit! You can get away with such things when you’re alone at home). Anyway, for a wonder my formula worked, and I’ve been enjoying a dark, moist, fluffy, boozy chocolate cake ever since.

Here’s my recipe for a Chocolate & Orange Liqueur Cake

Image

Begin by sifting together the dry ingredients in Bowl 1. Then using a whisk beat the wet ingredients in Bowl 2. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones little by little and keep whisking, making sure there are no lumps. You’ll get a smooth runny batter, with a heady lusty aroma that could make even nun blush. Pour this vile sinful liquid into a greased and lined baking tin and pop it in the oven before you give into temptation and consume it raw. Bake for about 30 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius.

*NB: You can increase the sugar by about 20gms if you want a sweeter cake and vary the amount of liqueur you add, I’ve used enough to give you boozy breathe. To make buttermilk just squeeze half a lemon in 100ml milk at room temperature. You can use vegetable oil instead of rice bran oil.

Image

One thought on “Boozy Bakes: Chocolate and Orange Liqueur Cake

  1. >Some people are excellent gifters. They know just what gifts make you squeal with delight.
    – Yo Mama! This ain’t no joke; I’m talking about your mother. Those two sentences right there – your mother, through and through!

    >My fairy Godmother (yes, I have one)
    – Well, when I’m blessed to have a Godbaby like you, I’ve got no choice, but step up my game.

    Furtles,
    Elbow Instead Of Knee Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

